Wednesday, 26 October 2011


- drivers will get 2 chances per lap to use DRS at Grand Prix of India. It follows the use of two zones in Canada, Valencia and Monza races earlier in the year. Like Monza, the all-new Buddh International Circuit will have independent detection points for each of its two zones - unlike Montreal and Valencia where both zones shared one detection point. The first zone detection point is 10 metres after the penultimate Turn 15, with its activation point just 36 metres into the start-finish straight, which should ensure plenty of passing into the third-gear right hander that is Turn One and second DRS zone detection point comes 16 metres before the Turn Three hairpin. Drivers can then activate DRS 510 metres into the New Delhi circuit’s back straight, which is one of the longest on the calendar

- Team Lotus decided that Karun Chandhok will not participate in this weekend’s inaugural Indian Grand Prix, although the national driver will take part in Friday’s first practice session. This confirms that HRT’s Narain Karthikeyan will be the only Indian driver in the country’s maiden race

- Adrian Sutil has insisted that he cannot wait until December for Force India boss Vijay Mallya to reveal his 2012 plans and he will speak with the indian chief. This comes as rumours continue to circulate that the German may be left on the sidelines as compatriot Nico Hülkenberg joins the race team alongside Scotland’s Paul di Resta(gpupdate source)

- Sauber has announced that Willem Toet will soon return to the team as Head of Aerodynamics. The Dutchman, 59, began his Formula 1 career at Toleman in 1985, with that outfit becoming Benetton a year later. In 1994 he moved to Ferrari before switching to BAR and Sauber in 1999 and 2006, respectively. The technical reshuffle will take place on Monday 14 November, with Toet set to work alongside the man who previously took his position 46year-old Seamus Mullarkey
- FIA has chosen 30 drivers who will take part in a four-day shootout to decide who will make it onto the 2012 Young Driver Excellence Academy. Only 18 of the shortlisted drivers will receive a place on the fully-funded training programme, which aims to help drivers develop their motor sport careers; the shortlist is made up of young talent from 26 different countries: Marius Aasen - 19years old - Norway, Mohamed Al Mutawaa - 18years old - UAE, Klaus Bachler - 20years old - Austria, Andrea Bate - 22years old - South Africa, Craig Breen - 21years old - Ireland, Andrea Caldarelli - 21years old - Italy, Gabriel Chaves  18years old - Columbia, Jonas Gelzinis - 23years old - Lithuania, Joseph Ghanem - 21years old - Lebanon, Parth Ghorpade - 18years old - India, Samin Gomez - 19years old - Venezuela, Richard Gonda - 17years old - Slovakia, Ashley Haigh-Smith - 19years old - South Africa, Yazan Hamadeh - 18years old - Syrian Arab Republic, Muhammad Nabil Jan Al Jeffri - 17years old - Malaysia, Michael Klitgaard Christensen - 21years old - Denmark, Jack Le Brocq - 19years old - Australia, Michael Lewis - 20years old - USA, Olivier Lombard - 20years old - France, Alexander Lynn - 18years old - UK, Diego Menchaca - 17years old - Mexico, Jose Andres Montalto - 21years old - Costa Rica, Thierry Neuville - 23years old - Belgium, Andrea Nucita - 22years old - Italy, Ramon Pineiro - 19years old - Spain, Brendan Reeves - 23years old - Australia, Pontus Tidemand - 20years old - Sweden, Timo van der Marel - 22years old - Holland, Sepp Wiegand - 20years old - Germany, Lewis Williamson - 21years old - UK

No comments: